The Set Apart

images

For anyone who has ever experienced isolation of any form. 

***

I am a raven
I am white
Near, but
Out of sight
These ravens
They peck
Not knowing
They peck at
Untruth
You think you’re
Someone’s writing desk
Yet your screams
Scream of the
Uncouth

I pluck my feathers and I call
For birds of my flock
Much as they cast me down, I fall
Across the wind of life

‘Neath the broken skin and plumage
My down is their own color
No matter; in wild detachment I rummage
Throughout the winds of life

Zephyrus, listen to me now
You rein my own path;
Only you can steer how
I travel the wind of life

With this mantra

I have no choice
But to continue
To fly on this wind of life …

 

Leave a Reply

