Summer Bliss

untitled

Maybe I’m considered a little late, posting a summer poem in the middle of September. However, autumn isn’t officially here till the 22nd of September. And I want to submit some old poems about summer, which have a farewell-to-summer feel to them. So, perfect timing!

I composed this with a story behind it. It was the end of 8th grade. It marked the start of summer, a long-awaited trip overseas for vacation, and then a transfer to a high school at the end of the season. At that time, being a thirteen-year-old was hard for several reasons.(Which thirteen-year-old doesn’t have it hard?) But when all these changes came along, it made me hope it would be for the better.

As it was, I had a heck of a nostalgic summer.

 *****

Do you remember

Hot, sticky nights when I couldn’t sleep?

Smelling the sun-baked pineapple softness,

Its overripe sappiness on the table counter would seep?

The freshness of another morn;

And some birthday surprises around, too

How the sun beams would always leap

Into those bless’d days anew?

*

Do you remember

Kayaking at the lake with friends?

Feeling the hot sun beat ‘pon your back,

While thinking: “I hope this never ends”?

The lazy brush with each coming day,

Hoping they’d sweep you off to who knew where;

Yet still hoping for that one wish it can send,

Thus fulfilling my desire, answering my prayer?

*

Do you remember

That summer, when my lifelong wish actually came true?

Grabbing on with a leap of faith,

When off to that faraway land we flew?

When I basked in that summer warmth

When I kept in mind the memories

I wanted to share with you

About my unforgettable time overseas?

*

It’s called summer bliss.

 

Leave a Reply

