Crying is a Joy and Sorrow

eye-1210172_960_720

I used to cry. Chronically. It got so bad that I’d cry daily about all my sorrows and frustrations, and I was very insecure about it, like there was something wrong with me. Like I was a crybaby. And there was very little I could do to stem the flow. But since there were no other ways to let out my frustration, what better way than to just weep through it, right? I wondered how to translate my emotions into a poem, and as I searched within myself, I came to realize that yea, being a soppy, sniffling mess isn’t fun, but tears broke me down so they could build me up.

*****

Crying never helps,

So they say,

It withers your stamina

And drains your day.

*

But sometimes,

Sometimes…

*

That’s not always so,

If you only knew the reason behind it though.

*

It helps to shed your sorrows

To purge emotions running wild

‘Specially if you’re passionate and feeling,

The end results are soft, calm, mild.

*

Every tear

Makes your stronger

They teach you to immune against the bad

They teach you to look at a new day

To teach you to be feeling, sensitive

They teach you to find beauty, outside and within

They teach you to laugh at mistakes,

For success is still yours to reap.

They teach you to face life

They teach you how to become that better, wiser you

That’s how tears can be but precious

pearls of passions…

*

So smile as though it were your last

And glance at the rays of sun.

Sunrise is always the wiser

Than moonlight’s continuous run.

*

Tears tear up your world, I know;

But see it as a helping hand, not a friendless foe.

*

Ah, tears…a big part of a poet’s life. But without them, I wouldn’t have this blog for myself and everyone to enjoy.

So here’s the thing: if you absolutely feel the urge to cry, then cry. I don’t care if you have to do it privately or while pouring out your troubles to a loved one. Just cry. I heard stories from people who liked to keep it all in. And you know what? It broke them down physically. But when crying, you have nothing to lose but a little less weight on your shoulders. In the end, this isn’t a sign of weakness; it’s a sign that we have human limitations and crying is a biological, healthy reaction to overcome them.

Leave a Reply

